YSL Le Teint Touche Éclat Foundation: A Review

Image

One of the foundations I have wanted to try most since its release has been the YSL Le Teint Touche Éclat. Since I am a college girl on a budget, and already owned a rather pricey Chanel foundation, I couldn’t bring myself to purchase one, as it costs a whopping $55. This foundation is the sister product of the famous YSL Touche Éclat, a highlighting pen that reflects light wherever you apply it. This foundation claims to be weightless and gel-like, targeting shadows and highlighting the contours of the face.  It also boasts a formula free of opaque filters, allowing imperfections on the skin to be concealed without looking “masked” or cakey.  I really like how it is available in neutral, pink and yellow-tone shades so everyone can find a shade that will match them perfectly.  The packaging is also quite chic and classy – the gold and glass bottle just screams luxury.

After spending a long time pining for this product, I got a rather good-sized sample at the YSL counter in Bergdorf’s while in New York City. I kept looking at the gorgeous gold bottles and just couldn’t help myself. The woman working there was also gorgeous…and incredibly nice (I hate overly pushy salespeople).

Swatched on my hand is BD40: on the left is it blended in, and not blended on the right.

Image

Me with no makeup whatsoever (eek!)

Image

Just the foundation in BD40

And here I have on the foundation (BD40) as well as some Bobbi Brown corrector under my eyes (Light Bisque). I applied the Laura Merciere primer before applying the foundation, and then set it lightly with MUFE HD powder however you can still see the glowiness/radiance coming through!

completeface

Complete Face

I have to say, I LOVE this foundation. While I have always loved my Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua foundation for its light and dewy finish, this may beat it… The coverage is sheer in that I don’t look like I’m wearing a ton of foundation, yet it covers the red spots I have on my lower cheeks so that I don’t have to put extra concealer over them. Additionally, my skin looks absolutely radiant and natural. While applying it with my Sigma F84 brush, it blended wonderfully and just melted into my skin. It dried pretty quickly and left a very smooth, almost silicony feeling on my skin. Overall it feels so soft and indeed weightless on my face. And, it has a SPF of 19 so it is protecting my skin from the sun when I go outside! While a lot of people have complained about the staying power of this foundation, I have not noticed any problems. I used primer and did set the foundation to help prolong its life, which I think has worked quite well and I have gotten a good 8 hours out of it before I noticed any fading.  I also found the color matched me perfectly! I have quite yellow skin, being Asian and all, and sometimes I find foundations just aren’t yellow enough to suit my skin color. This foundation, however, was just perfect.

My skin is normal to dry, thus the radiance effect does not make me look overly shiny/greasy, however for you ladies out there that have oily skin….I’m not sure how good this will be for you. Perhaps if you used a seriously mattifying (is that even a word?) powder like Rimmel Stay Matte or MAC Blot powder the “shine” could be taken down considerably but you might want to stick to more matte finish foundations like Chanel Mat Lumiere or Revlon Colorstay.

For a standard 1 oz. bottle, $55 is a hefty price….but, considering YSL is a designer, department brand, I’ve seen worse. I’d definitely recommend this to those with normal to dry skin! The YSL Le Teint Touche Éclat Foundation is sold at Sephora, Nordstrom, Saks etc. for $55!

-OB

6 comments

  1. I am really inspired along with your writing abilities
    as neatly as with the format to your weblog. Is this a paid theme or
    did you customize it your self? Either way keep up the nice high quality writing, it’s
    uncommon to peer a nice weblog like this one nowadays..

  2. I think this is a powerfull blog with a lot interesting blogposts about this stuff. And i just wanna say thanks for this. I’ll subscribe to your blog to see if you post more stuff like these!

Leave a Reply

