MAC Paint Pots: A Review

caps on

Ever since Thanksgiving I have fallen in love with Mac Paint Pots, especially these two: Bare Study and Soft Ochre. If you didn’t know already, paint pots can be used as either an eye shadow primer, layered beneath other shadows, or alone as a cream shadow.

Although for years I hadn’t allowed myself to purchase any, as I already an eye shadow primer: Urban Decay Primer Potion. I also didn’t see the benefit of cream shadow over powder shadow – why would you apply a colored base when it would just be covered by the powders over it? However, looking back, I don’t know how I ever did makeup without these two pots. Soft Ochre is the perfect base for any colored shadows, as it matches my yellow skin tone perfectly when blended in, thus creating a concealer/primer combo product that both evens out my skin tone and provides a great base for eye shadow. For those with more pink than yellow-toned skin, I would recommend the shade Painterly instead. Bare study is a beautiful pinky champagne color that illuminates the eyes. Its sheen reflects light on the lid, making your eyes look brighter and more awake. I love to use it on its own, with a bit of Urban Decay’s Buck eye shadow above it in my crease area as a simple contour for a casual and natural day look.

Left: Bare Study. Right: Soft Ochre

Left: Bare Study. Right: Soft Ochre

Left: Soft Ochre. Right: Bare Study.

Left: Soft Ochre. Right: Bare Study.

Both these paint pots are creamy and smooth, and glide onto the eyes like a dream. Plus, it seems as if they will last me for months – I’ve used them every day for about 3 months and have barely made a dent. Retailing for $18.50 and sold in MAC stores/counters across the country, I’d definitely recommend these puppies.

What are your favorite cream shadow bases?

-Olivia

One comment

Leave a Reply

