Mascara Trick for Monolids

For all my fellow monolidders out there, this one’s for you. For those who are unaware of what a “monolid” is, let me enlighten you. A “normal” eye consists of a lid, crease (or socket), and brow bone area. However with most Asians, the crease is pretty much non-existent, leaving an extended lid that turns into the brow bone. For many years, I struggled with eye shadow application, as I had really only seen makeup for white people, being adopted and living in an all white town and all…but what I really struggled with, was mascara. Once I curl my lashes with my fabulous Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler (which unfortunately is no longer available in the US) my stick straight lashes are curled to perfection and no longer point downwards. The only thing about this is that when curled they touch my eyelid, making application of mascara impossible without leaving black marks on my lids and eye shadow. At first I just tried cleaning up the smudges with Qtips, however it was tedious and a rather annoying step to my already long makeup routine. Upon discovering this trick, my routine has been shortened, and a new staple “tool” added!

All you need is scissors, and a index card.  Cut the index card in half, and then half again, leaving a long rectangle. Then, cut a half moon shape in the edge of the card, as shown below.

DSCN1664

I use this as a sort of shield to prevent mascara from getting on my lids by placing the card over my eye with the cutout at the roots of my lashes.  Therefore, when I’m applying mascara, the excess gets on the card instead of my lid! This card can also be used on the lower lashes as well: just put the flat side under your lashes and apply mascara. To increase the longevity of the card, you can use both sides, and add an extra cutout to the opposite side.

I hope this mascara trick is as helpful to all the other Asians out there as it was for me!

-Olivia

Leave a Reply

