Disappointing Products #1

all

When you’re as much as a beauty product freak as I would, you’d understand what a letdown it is to find out a product you’ve been looking forward to purchasing for weeks does not at all live up to your expectations. This, unfortunately, occurred with all three of these featured products.

benefit they're real

Benefit’s They’re Real

I have always been a firm believer in only using drugstore mascaras. Why spend $30+ on a product you’ll have to replace every 3 months (or 2 if you’re me)? However, Benefit’s They’re Real Mascara almost had me convinced otherwise. So, when I received it as a freebie because of my points at Sephora I jumped for joy. However, the worry I felt towards the formulation not being waterproof enough to hold up my straight Asian lashes quickly turned into a reality. Although yes, the mascara gave me insane volume and length that would amaze the average woman, my lashes immediately flopped and lost the curl my curler worked so hard to create. I would recommend this to those girls who already have long lashes, but not for those Asians like me with straight horse lashes that really need a curl.

caudalie beauty elixir

Caudalie’s Beauty Elixir

This is one of those products I really wanted to like, but just couldn’t. Caudalie’s Beauty Elixir is a cult product, and a pricey one at that. Since the full size bottle is close to $50, I decided to stick to the 1 oz bottle for $18 which is still not cheap considering how fast the product goes. Caudalie claims this mist can be used not only as a toner, but also as a makeup setting spray (to help your makeup last longer). I tried using it both ways, and was not overly impressed. It smells deliciously herb-y (not a word I know but it’s the only way to describe it) but I did not notice any smoothing of the skin, tightening of the pores or “instant burst of radiance” as the bottle promised. This could be because I have pretty good skin to begin with, so if the essential oils and plant ingredients could actually improve my skin, I wouldn’t notice I guess. But what I did notice, was that after spraying my face only a couple of times, a significant amount of liquid was gone from the bottle! If I used this as a toner twice a day, and to set my makeup, the puny 1 oz bottle would be gone in about two weeks. Not worth the $18 if you ask me, especially if you’re a college girl on a budget.

nyx slide on

NYX Slide On Pencil

I first gave NYX Slide On Pencils a try because I heard they were a dupe for Urban Decay’s 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencils, but only cost $8 instead of $19. In the beginning, I found that these pencils were just that: creamy, pigmented, and long wearing. My main use of the black one was to tightline my upper lashline in order to fake the appearance of thicker lashes. At first I thought the black one was doing a great job, then I started noticing the smudging. Even after I let it set, it always ended up on my waterline. While I have found the other colors do last a long time on the upper lid or underneath my lower lashes, they are no good for tightlining, which makes them a disappointment in my eyes (no pun intended).

-Olivia

One comment

  1. I Love your blog! Very my style. I definitely agree about the Benefit They’re Real. I work at Sephora, and I just can’t stand it! And it’s super tough to get off! ugh.

Leave a Reply

