My Favorite Red Lips: YSL Glossy Stain

DSCN1931This winter, I’m obsessed with red lips. Lipstick, lipgloss, lipstain, you name it. If it’s red, I want it. I would wear them every single day if I could, but unfortunately I don’t think they’d be much appreciated on my central New York campus (I hate girls who wear lipstick in the library! Do less, honey). Part of this red-lip-mania is due to the fact that I discovered the YSL Rouge Pur Couture Vernis A Levres Glossy Stain (or just plain old YSL Glossy Stains for short).  This product first hit the markets last yearand I was instantly drawn to it; partly because it was YSL, partly because it used groundbreaking technology to develop this gloss-stain hybrid.  It not only creates an even stain on your lips that can last through hours of eating and drinking, but also gives your lips a delicious glossy shine.

DSCN1879The color I picked up is #9 Rouge Laque, a classic warm red that is great for those with more yellow-based skin tones.  It has a doe-foot like applicator that is in a flat triangle shape, which I found actually great for reaching the corners of the mouth.

To achieve the maximum stain and shine, you need to apply two coats: the first as a thin even base to stain the lips, and the second to add more opacity and insane shine. Although it at first feels watery and thin on the lips, it soon turns a bit gummy textured. That makes it sound so gross and unpleasant but I can’t think of any other way to describe it….and believe me it’s quite comfy on the lips, not drying at all. And let me tell you, does this puppy last. I can wear this out at night and it stays on until I come back to my dorm room in the wee hours of the morning. It’s actually quite interesting: when you are wearing this product and take a sip of something from a glass, very little red is left on the rim: the gloss seems to make a protective layer on the pigment. In fact if you touch your lips with your finger, nothing comes off at all! Once the gloss starts to fade, you are left with an even stain that you can easily put lip balm or more gloss over.  Another great thing about the glossy stains is that although they stain your lips for hours, the stain is easily removed with makeup remover. I always hated how sometimes lipsticks or lip liners will leave your lips red or magenta until the next morning, no matter how long you spend scrubbing them. But of course, not with this holy grail product.

My only complaints about this are the price ($32, but hey, it is YSL), and the fact that once the applicator is on your lips, you need to act fast. If you don’t, the “gummy texture” will turn a bit clumpy and feel a bit too thick on your lips.

Overall, the YSL Glossy Stains are amazing. They are long lasting and just exude glamour; from the fabulous gold packaging to the shine they put on the lips. This has become one of my favorite lip products of all time and I’m dying to purchase another one of the 15 shades available.

What is your favorite red?

Olivia

One comment

Leave a Reply

