My Winter Skincare Must-Haves

ImageEvery woman knows (or should know) that as the seasons change, so does her skin and therefore so should her skincare.  In the winter months we get drier, scalier skin that is constantly in need of heavy moisturizers, exfoliation and some general TLC due to both the cold and the dry air from heaters. In the warmer months our skin is often oilier so we need lighter and more refreshing products as well as lots of SPF.  Because it is currently -12 degrees out where I live and my skin (and my soul) feels like it’s dying, I’m sharing with you my winter skincare must-haves.

The first thing I notice when the weather begins to turn colder is that the skin on my body gets very dry, very fast. Dry as in rough with dead skin cells (yummy) and very itchy and scratchy. My first product in combating this terror is Soap & Glory Scrub ‘em and Leave ‘em Body Buff. I use this exfoliant in the shower as the very last step before I get out to exfoliate (slough off all the dead skin cells) as well as moisturize. Although it leaves my skin super smooth, my pesky sensitive skin needs more moisture to be satisfied. That’s when L’Occitane’s Shea Butter Ultra Rich Body Cream steps up to the plate. It’s packaged in a giant 7 oz. tub and smells absolutely delectable – a mixture of shea butter (it makes up 25% of the formula) and jasmine.  It immediately softens my skin and leaves it plump and nourished with moisture.

As far as my face goes, I switch from using Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser to L’Occitane Shea Cleansing Milk. At first I was skeptical about using a “cleansing milk” on my face – would it leave a weird film on my skin? Would it actually clean my face? However, it not only cleans my face impeccably, but also provides extra moisture to the skin. The beauty of this product is that you don’t need water to use it; you just massage it all over your face and can wipe it off with a washcloth or cotton pad.  Water can actually be very drying to your skin (every notice how dry your hands are after you wash them?) so by eliminating the exposure of your face to water, your skin avoid becoming extra dry. As far as a face cream goes, I stick with my good ole Ponds Dry Skin Cream. It may not be the most luxurious, expensive face cream out there, but it does the job just fine. It’s thick and rich and my face just adores it.

One last winter must-have for me is Lush Mint Julips, a lip scrub that leaves your lips soft and properly exfoliated (an important step before applying lipstick). I forgot to bring this home over winter break and boy was it missed.

What are your winter skincare must-haves?

Olivia

One comment

Leave a Reply

