Tip & Trick Tuesday: How to Keep Your Lashes Curled

DSCN2002

For those girls out there who have lashes that grow straight down, as mine do, I’m sure you can relate to my teenage struggles in how to keep them from falling down.  Before I discovered eyelash curlers I would put attempt to apply mascara on these dreadfully straight lashes, and hope they would make my eyes look bigger and more defined. What a fail. Then when I was 16, a wonderful senior in my boarding school dorm introduced me to the Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler, which she told me, was the best for Asian lashes.  She was right! It fit my flat almond-shaped eyes perfectly, unlike the Revlon one my mother had that I had tried when she wasn’t looking. It made my eyes look bigger and my face look more awake with just one squeeze per eye! But despite this fabulous tool, I found that as the day went on, my eyelashes got droopier and droopier.

Enter waterproof mascara, the answer to all my problems.  The formula for waterproof mascara is oil-based instead of water-based, so it lasts longer and dries in a more rigid form than regular mascara. Although yes, it is much more of a pain to remove, it keeps your lashes in the exact position you want them to be all day long. I can pop on my mascara at 8 am and by the time I’m ready to take it off at god only knows what time of night, my lashes are perky and look freshly mascara-ed.

Note: waterproof and water-resistant are not one and the same. Water-resistant mascara will hold your curl for a couple hours, but will leave you with droopy, straight lashes by the end of the day.

For those who want to keep their lashes curled but don’t like waterproof mascara, many makeup artists recommend using a waterproof formula on the base of the lash, right where the curl is, and a regular formula on the tips!

Olivia

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

