Tip & Trick Tuesday: How to Conceal Under-eye Circles

Concealer, what would I do without you?  Always a dear friend ready to comfort me after late nights of staying up to write papers or watch Desperate Housewives on Netflix, or to deal with the naturally discolored skin around my eyes. As mentioned in my Minimal Makeup post, under-eye concealer (and corrector) is one of those must-have products for me. That’s why this week I’m going to share with you my tips for concealing under-eye circles.

origins ginzingIt all begins with Origins GinZing.  This is an amazing eye cream that not only moisturizes your eye area to prevent dryness and nasty milia, but also eliminates bags and puffiness. It achieves this while simultaneously reflecting light away from the under-eye area to brighten the area! How incredible is that. Can’t go a day without using it. I apply it after washing and moisturizing the face but before applying primer and foundation.

concealer correctorAfter foundation however, it’s time for corrector. While some may consider this an unnecessary step, it’s essential for my everyday makeup. Color correctors for the under-eye area are generally peach or pinky in color as to cancel out the blue tones. One of the best correctors out there belongs to Bobbi Brown. She makes some fabulously hydrating correctors in both peach and pink (known as bisque) shades; I personally own the Bobbi Brown Corrector in Light Bisque. I apply this with my ring fingers straight from the pot and blend under both eyes to brighten the area even more. Then I use Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circle Treatment Concealer in Neutralizer, a yellow-toned concealer one shade lighter than my natural skin color, as a final “top coat.” I love this concealer because it’s cheap in price but a great quality product. It’s a thin, liquid-like formula that comes out of an antibacterial sponge-tip applicator. I just dab a bit under my eyes and blend with my fingers. A last but also necessary step is to set the concealer with a powder so it won’t budge all day! I know this sounds like a whole lot of effort, but believe me having an impeccable under-eye area really brightens up the face and makes you look 10 times more awake.

I hope you enjoyed my tip of the week!

Olivia

2 comments

  1. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my
    blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Bless you

Leave a Reply

