Face of the Day #1: A Lazy Bronzed Sunday

DSCN2346DSCN2408DSCN2427

When I woke up I decided today was going to be a productive Sunday, so I wanted to look at least semi-decent (I find the sloppier I look, the less work I do). I didn’t, however, want to take 30 minutes to get ready or use a lot of products. So I whipped out this quick and easy face with a bronzed eye that’s a step up from my minimal makeup, but isn’t trying too hard for the weekend.

For my base I used my Dr. Jart+ Water Fuse Beauty Balm, which I has been my go-to foundation substitute lately. It’s very light on the skin yet provides just the right amount of coverage for the weekend. I blended it all over my face with a kabuki brush and added extra layers with my fingers under my eyes. Normally I wouldn’t recommend applying foundation under the eyes but since this BB cream is incredibly moisturizing, it works great in this area. Then to brighten up under the eyes even more I applied some Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer in Neutralizer with my ring finger. While I usually set my makeup with a powder, but I couldn’t really be bothered…it is a Sunday after all. To liven up my cheeks I swiped a bit of Elf Blush in Candid Coral across the apples of my cheeks – I love this blush as it is both cheap ($3!) and great quality. This shade in particular is one of my favorites because it adds a healthy glow to the face without seeming too obvious that I’m wearing blush. On my eyes I used Maybelline Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze as an all-over the lid color. This cream shadow is genius for lazy days because its shade can vary depending on how much of it you layer on, making your one-eye shadow look like you put way more effort into it. I drew on a bit of NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in 609 French Fries, a dark bronze, under my lower lash line and onto my waterline to complete the bronzed look. For an inner corner highlight I used the same pencil but in 608 Cottage Cheese, a shimmery white. I love these Jumbo Eye Pencils because they are affordable and can be used for eye shadow bases or alone. To complete my eye look I used my staple Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner, and L’Oreal Voluminous Carbon Black Mascara, which I’m trying out at the moment. And of course, I had to attend to the brows, so I filled out the ends with a bit of my NYX Auto Eyebrow Pencil in Charcoal.

A simple bronzey eye is a great way to add sophistication to your makeup, especially for Sundays when you’re feeling a bit lazy….

2 comments

Leave a Reply

