Tip & Trick Tuesday: Daytime Bright Lips

Photo on 2013-02-12 at 12.44 #2

Wearing the Revlon Lip Butter in Lollipop

So. Yeah. It’s not Tuesday. Sorry! But, I still want to share a tip & trick with you all!

I love bright lip colors. All my best friends know one of the main reasons I want to graduate college and enter the workplace is so I can wear lipstick every day (among other more serious reasons of course). However, living on a college campus I find I rarely ever wear any sort of color on my lips, except for maybe a tinted lip balm. How unfortunate and un-glamorous. But, some days like today I decide I just don’t give a damn, today’s going to be a lippy day. That being said, it doesn’t mean I feel comfortable strolling into class or the library with a full on hollywood matte red lip, so I’ve decided to share with you how to wear a bright lip in a casual daytime setting.

To me, lips that are overly matte or overly glossy are not daytime appropriate. They both look and are quite high maintenance, and let’s be real, no one has time to be touching up their lipstick every hour. I prefer to stick to products that are bright, but also moisturizing and therefore slightly glossy; a lipstick and lip balm in one you could call it. The most qualifying lip product of this category is the Revlon Lip Butter (review coming soon!). The shade I have been slicking on my lips most recently is Lollipop, a blue toned fuchsia with the slightest hint of shimmer as it is not only fun, but makes your teeth look extra white! Revlon has seemed to find the perfect balance of both pigmented and wearable in this color – it’s not too shiny and it’s not too matte.

To accompany a bold lip for daytime wear, I like to keep the rest of the face pretty neutral: a tinted moisturizer or sheer coverage foundation, a swipe of black eyeliner and mascara and a neutral pinky brown blush. I find that too much eyeshadow combined with a bright lip can not only be distracting, but seem too formal for daytime wear, especially for college life. This combo is a great way to try new things (like a fun lippy)!

Hope you enjoyed this tip of the week!

xx Olivia

One comment

Leave a Reply

