Revlon Lip Butters: A Review

revlon lip butterIn my last post featuring bold everyday lips, I highlighted the Revlon Lip Butter in Lollipop. However, these brilliant lip products are so amazing that they deserve their own blog post review. These came out last summer and hit the drugstore cosmetic aisle by storm – they were flying off the shelves and were often sold out, classic Revlon.  And as soon as I got my hands on one I understood why: these lip butters are the perfect combination of lip balm and lipstick. They are pigmented like a lipstick, but creamy and moisturizing like a lip balm. Gliding on smoothly, they coat the lips perfectly, and since they aren’t completely opaque, lip liners or lip brushes are not necessary, thank god. Let’s not forget the cute packaging as well! I love how the caps are the same color as the product itself – it even includes sparkles on it if the shade is shimmery. This makes finding which particular color you want a breeze in your lippy storage or handbag.  The quilted pattern is very reminiscent of their Color Burst lipsticks, but I like this a bit better.

revlon lip butters

Fig Jam, Berry Smoothie, Lollipop, Sweet Tart, Tutti Frutti, Peach Parfait

The shades I have are Fig Jam, Berry Smoothie, Lollipop, Sweet Tart, Tutti Frutti and Peach Parfait, and my favorites are definitely Tutti Fritti and Lollipop.  Starting from the left, Fig Jam looks terrifying in the bullet, like an ugly brown. However, it sheers out to be a brownish wine shade that is incredibly flattering and perfect for winter. Berry Smoothie is one of the first colors I picked up in the store; it’s a very pigmented darker neutral pink with a hint of shimmer. I would definitely consider this an everyday color, but more of an older, more professional shade. Lollipop is a playful and fun bright blue-toned fuchsia with shimmer, but don’t worry, the shimmer is not noticeable on the lip. I love wearing this during the daytime, as can be further explained here. Sweet Tart, I’m so sorry but you are definitely not one of my favorites. It’s a bright pink, but a bit on the bubblegum side which is not  my thing. I don’t wear it very often and sometimes feel bad, but I just can’t make girly pinks work on me! Tutti Frutti, on the other hand, is my summertime favorite. A creamy matte orange, it is the perfect accessory for a tan, especially if your tan leans a bit on the orangey side as mine does. And last but not least, Peach Parfait. I purchased this shade because it is a favorite of Jen from FrmHeadtoToe but honestly I find it way too sparkly for my taste. The actual shade itself is a fabulous neutrally peach, definitely a MLBB (my lips but better), but the sparkles can be a bit chunky and reflect rather obnoxiously in the daylight. Plus, I hate sparkles.

The range of shades is 20-fold, and includes pastel baby pinks, brighter pinks and various shades of red in addition to the ones I own. These Lip Butters retail for about $6.50 in drugstores and are well worth the price, especially for those trying out lipsticks but aren’t ready to commit completely.

Have you tried Revlon Lip Butters?

Olivia

One comment

Leave a Reply

