What’s in My Travel Makeup Bag: Spring Break Edition

what's in my makeup bag spring breakAs you might have noticed, I have been seriously neglecting OBbeauty and it makes me very sad. School work, midterms, and spring break have been a giant interference but I’m back and ready to continue blogging with a vengeance! So here’s my first post back, a What’s In My Travel Makeup Bag Spring Break Edition (you can read my first one here). I spent the past week getting bronzed in the lovely Puerto Rico and I thought I’d share with you what makeup I brought along with me.

Now since my main goal of this vacation was to get tan, I knew I wouldn’t be wearing a lot of makeup during the day due to beaching and swimming, yet I wanted to glam up at night for our fancy dinners. So,  I stuck to the bare minimals but added some fun lipsticks for the nighttime. For a base I brought two shades of my favorite Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation in B30 and B40 to mix together to match my various darkened shades of my face, and toss in my Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer in Beige which I can now wear under my eyes once again because of my tan! I kept my bronzer and blush choices slim, and picked out NARS Orgasm for my sole blush of the trip because it looks absolutely fantastic on tan skin. The peachy pink shade gives me an unbelievably natural yet flushed cheek and the gold shimmer leaves me free to ditch highlighter. I brought along my Stila Sun Bronzing Powder in Shade 02 as it is perfect for my tan face. It can lean a bit orange but since my yellow skintone also leans orange when it’s tan it’s a great match.

I had to bring along one of the Urban Decay Naked palettes of course so I picked the original one as it includes warmer shades that are more suited for darker, olivey skin tones like I have. This palette is amazing for travel (and overall) because of the great variety of eye shadow colors it contains. Its range shifts from pale golden and pinky shades to dark olive and coppery browns and even includes a sparkling black that can be used as a liner so one can achieve both daytime and nighttime looks with this one palette. In addition I packed my MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study (which I reviewed here) because it is not only waterproof, but also can be worn alone as a subtle shimmery sheen on the lids or as a base for powder shadows. The rest of my eye makeup is standard: Maybelline The Falsies Flared Waterproof Mascara, Stila Stay-All-Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner, NYX Slide-On Pencil in Brown Perfection, NYX Auto Eyebrow in Charcoal and Benefit Instant Brow Pencil in Medium Brown.

As I absolutely adore lipstick (and would wear it every day if I could) I brought 3 lipsticks as well as a tinted lip balm which I am in love with. Korres makes some great products, and their Korres Lip Butters are no exception. I have the shade Mango, which is a sheer wash of orangey goodness that both moisturizes the lips and provides that extra color to make your face pop. Also in the coral family is MAC Lipstick in Vegas Volt, an corally-orangey-pink lipstick that has that delicious vanilla scent of the classic MAC lipsticks. Because it is an amplified formula it is incredibly pigmented and is best applied straight from the bullet then dabbed a bit with the finger. This also looks amazing with a tan because it really stands out and screams summer. The other two lipsticks I brought along with me are both Revlon. Revlon’s Fire & Ice Lipstick (review post in the works) is a bright warm red that is becoming my #1 red lipstick (sorry YSL glossy stain #9) and Persian Melon is a a bright warm pink that is universally flattering. The latter of the two is in a green tube because it is from the “Moon Drops” collection, and also has the scent that the Super Lustrous Lipsticks used to have back when I was a young child. The scent to this day still reminds me of my mother’s Revlon lipsticks she used to wear (Wine With Everything, yes Mom I do remember the exact shade) and I used to try on when she wasn’t looking.

Another lip product I brought but completely forgot to include in the above picture is the Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturizing Balm in 04 Mega Melon which is the perfect my-lips-but-better shade for me. Goes great with a casual look or a smoky eye.

As you can see I packed pretty lightly! At night I usually stuck to a gold eye and a bright lipstick but at least I had the Naked Palette handy if I wanted to really mix up my looks!

What did you bring in your makeup bag on your latest travels?

xo Olivia

One comment

  1. That’s quite a bit of products you brought along! I just ordered my first Urban Decay Naked 1 palette, so it’s good to hear that it travels well and that you like it a lot. I tend to bring a good amount of makeup with me when I travel, just because I end up liking to bring more then I’ll probably need. You never know what mood you’ll be in! I might need those four different lipstick choices! ;P

Leave a Reply

