Ipsy Glam Bag March 2013

ipsy glam bag march2013 1If you didn’t know already, subscription beauty bags are all the rage. The premise is similar to that of a magazine subscription: you pay a set amount of money each month (ranging from $10 to $50) to receive a package in the mail with sample or full sizes of beauty products for you to try.

After perusing many different subscriptions I finally settled on Ipsy, a company started by the Youtube sensation Michelle Phan because the products you receive are from many reliable, well-known brands, and are products that I would actually use, as opposed to chucking them directly into the trash. I also love the idea that each month’s bag is themed, and in addition to the products you get a cute bag to store things in.

In my first Glam Bag I received Fresh Travel-lite Makeup Remover Wipes, a Glam RX palette with two sample-size eyeshadow pans by Yaby, and Juice Beauty Hydrating Mist. I have to admit I haven’t tried the wipes yet; they are such a cute and travel-friendly size I’m saving them for my purse in case I ever need to take off my makeup on the go.

ipsy march13 2

The Glam RX palette is quite sturdy, and I was secretly super excited to get it as it’s my first palette ever! I am slowly accumulating MAC eyeshadows that will eventually go into a MAC palette but I don’t even own a Z-palette! Although this palette isn’t big enough to fit more than 2 NYX blushes and 2 MAC shadows max, it is great for storing really small shadows like these two Yaby ones pictured. I’ve never heard of the brand before but the quality of the shadows is great. They are both very pigmented and blend out easily on the eye. On the left is 192 Seashell, a very light pink satin, and on the right is 133 Azalea petal, a burgundy toned brown. The palette also includes a mirror (not pictured).

ipsy march13 3As for the Juice Hydrating Mist, it works as both a toner and a refresher that can help set your makeup. It’s made from all natural ingredients and claims to be filled with grapeseed oil, which regulates your oil-production, and antioxidants. I’ve been impressed so far, but I have to say, I’m not a huge fan of the smell. Like I mentioned in my Estee Lauder ANR post, on one hand I like skincare products to have a natural smell because it reminds me of how natural the products are, yet the smell of all organic ingredients can kind of create a stink. Maybe it’s an acquired scent? We’ll see, although the smell of Caudalie’s Beauty Elixir has certainly grown on me over time.

Overall, I’m quite pleased with this beauty bag! I’ve been introduced to some new brands that I’m excited to check out, especially Juice Beauty, and since I’ve been trying to check my spending as of lately and have thus been avoiding Sephora and Nordies like the plague, it’s good to have some new products in my hands again!

Have you tried any beauty subscriptions? If so, which ones would you recommend?

xo Olivia

Leave a Reply

