Make Up For Ever HD Microfinish Powder: A Review

MUFE HD powder

MUFE HD Microfinish Powder: the setting powder I have a major love-hate relationship with.

Why? Let’s break it down. This silica powder finishes your base and sets your makeup while helping to even out your complexion and reduce the visibility of pores. While it looks white in the jar, it is translucent on the face and can be used on women of all skin colors. I love this product because it keeps lengthens the weartime of my concealer and foundation, yet does not completely mattify the face. Many setting powders make the face matte to prevent you from looking shiny, but I am a sucker for that dewy, glowing look so I never want to look matte! When I apply this powder the dew factor of the skin is definitely kicked down a notch, yet not completely eliminated – the skin still looks radiant (thanks foundation!) and natural. Because it’s 100% silica, it makes your face feel incredibly smooth-it’s actually amazing. It also lasts forever. I’m serious. I purchased mine about a year and a half ago and have only used a third of it; this is after using it every single day, ladies. It’s life is also expanded by the fact that you only need a VERY small amount to cover your entire face.

The cons?  If you go overboard and apply too much your face can flash back white in photographs. Not a pretty sight. This is one of the main reasons for the controversy surrounding this product. Celebrities would wear it to events and then later in photographs would have horrid white patches all over their faces. This is easily avoidable however, if you just watch how much you apply. Additionally, it is not travel friendly in the least. Even when I pack it so that it is right-side-up, a ton of excess powder always seems to escape the 6 small holes in the top of the jar. Thus, when you take off the lid, powder goes flying everywhere and it’s hard to get only a little bit onto your brush. I wish the packaging was more similar to the Bare Essentials loose powders!

To apply, I tap a teensy amount of the HD powder into the lid, then swirl my Sigma F30 Large Powder Brush around in it to thoroughly distribute the powder among the bristles. Then, I pat the brush along my T-zone, cheeks, and lightly over my eye area.

This product is available at Sephora for $34, which is pretty standard for a loose setting powder. As far as loose powders go, I’m a fan. However, I am in the market for a great pressed finishing powder so if you have any suggestions please comment below!

xo Olivia

Leave a Reply

