Face of the Day #3: Classic Smoky Eye

IMG_0939

please excuse the poor lighting!

picstitchThis “Face of the Day” is really a “face of the night” as this is geared for nighttime events and going out! While sometimes I like trying out funky eye makeup at night and often match my shadow to my outfit, sometimes it’s nice to stick with a black smoky eye. It’s a bit rock chick/edgy which I love, since my style is pretty classic and not at all punk-rock.

For the rest of the face I kept the makeup fairly simple as to not distract from the eyes. A bit of Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua, Bobbi Brown Corrector/Concealer, Stila Bronzer and Nars Deep Throat and the face is good to go!

 IMG_0941 IMG_0945

To achieve the smoky eye I used the Givenchy Le Prisme Mono Eyeshadow Quad in 01 Showy Black, which has four different shades of black. The top two are satin black and a shimmery asphalt, and the bottom two are matte and sparkly. This is one of my favorite products to use for smoky eyes because all the shades I need are in one small compact!

I first used the shimmer as a base, patting it all over the lid with a flat shader brush. I like to bring the shadow up high enough so just a little bit shows over my “crease” when I look straight forward with my eyes open. This is also the same spot where my hypothetical crease would be (you can test this by pushing your finger in the fold of skin there slightly). It took me a long time to figure out where to stop putting my eye shadow with my asian eyes but this is what works for me! Next I worked a bit of the satin black into the outer corners and underneath the outer part of my lower lashline. Then I used my ring finger to pat some of the sparkly black shadow onto the middle of my lids for an little extra oomph. I prefer to use my finger to apply eye shadows with sparkle because I find they sparkles stay on the lids better and don’t produce a lot of fallout which is such a hassle to clean up. I lined the upper lid and waterline with some black pencil and then swiped some of the matte black shadow over the top to set it. Working with black shadows is great because you can kind of smudge it on there and it will still look good. It’s okay to get a bit messy and imprecise – it makes the makeup look lived in, like you really are a punk rock band groupie who’s been wearing that makeup all night long. To finish I added several coats of mascara and highlighted the inner corners of my eye with Urban Decay’s Midnight 15 Eye Shadow to bring light into my eyes amongst all that darkness.

A good tip for blending out smoky eyes is to use bronzer! It adds warmth back to the cool black shades and ties together your whole face.

Do you like rocking the smoky eye? What’s your favorite eye makeup to wear when you go out?

xo Olivia

2 comments

Leave a Reply

