YSL Touche Eclat Radiant Touch: A Review

IMG_1037I finally got my hands on this cult classic highlighter after many months of watching my wallet and wishful hoping. The YSL Touche Eclat Radiant Touch became an instant success after it’s release in 1991 – so much so that every 10 seconds one is sold (according to Vogue). This loyal following has shot the Touche Eclat into holy grail status for many women in the beauty industry and kept sales at crazy high levels. It claims to brighten and highlight the complexion and erase fine lines, dark circles and illuminate the skin through its Luminocaptide Compex. YSL advertises it as “8 hours of sleep with the click of a pen.” Because of this, I was expecting big things, and I mean big. I’d stuck to Bobbi Brown correctors and concealers and am still quite addicted, but thought it was time to switch things up and try this highlighter pen.

Now, as you can see the packaging is absolutely gorgeous. Both the box and pen are a classy, shiny gold, and the pen feels substantially heavy and expensive. On one end is the cap and white brush-head, and on the other a black button with the shade number of the product that you press to release the product onto the brush. The shade I have is 1.5 Radiant Silk. On YSL’s website it says it’s best suited for “fair complexions with golden peach light beige undertones,” and on Sephora it was described “for light to medium complexions with yellow or golden undertones.” While I’m still a bit tan, I certainly do have yellow undertones and the highlighter is supposed to be 1-2 shades lighter than your skintone so I gave 1.5 a go.

IMG_1033I have to say, I’m super disappointed. For $40 this pen is definitely not worth it. I knew some famous makeup artists such as Lisa Eldridge were not fans, but I figured this pen was so famous I would love it. What I found was that after applying it over Bobbi Brown’s Corrector it looked amazing for the first 30 minutes, but faded quickly, leaving me looking tired and no where near illuminated just a couple hours later. It did work effectively around my  mouth area, brightening it and canceling out any dark pigmentation I have, but for $40 I would expect it to work on both my eye area and around my mouth. I also found that even when I tried to set my undereye makeup it faded, and lost its luminosity as soon as I powdered. I know that By Terry makes a great highlighting pen (Terry was the original creator of the Touche Eclat before leaving YSL and creating her own line) with more coverage but it’s more expensive.

It seems to me that the drugstore alternatives to the Touche Eclat are much better, albeit a whole lot less luxurious. My favorite has been the Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch which lasts a lot longer yet still brightens wherever you apply it just as much as the  Touche Eclat.  If you’re willing to give it a try, the YSL Touche Eclat can be found at YSL counters and Sephora for $40!

What do you think of the infamous Touche Eclat?

xx Olivia

3 comments

  1. What as shame! I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews about it as well, but for $40 for such a small tube it should be fabulous! Have you tried any of Bare Minerals brightening products? I adore Stroke of Light in #2 and I think it’d be fantastic for your skin tone as it is very yellow and you mentioned you struggle finding yellow based foundations. It cancels out my dark circles very well and does not fade on me and for only $22, you only need a teeny tiny bit! :]

Leave a Reply

