Matchy Matchy

matchy 1

Since I’ve been on such a lip kick, I knew when I bought these matchstick jeans from J.Crew about a month ago that I would absolutely need to pair them with a silky white blouse and a bright pink lip that matched the print. Enter MAC Lipstick in Vegas Volt, a bright pinky coral hue that makes quite the summer statement on the lips.  Because the formulation of the lipstick is an amplified, it is intensely pigmented and thick – definitely not a casual, sheer lip, this bad boy requires maintenance, although maybe not as much as a red per se. Truth be told this was both my first MAC purchase, and MAC lipstick, bought when I was only 17 and desperate to brighten up my pale winter face.

matchy 2I apply this lipstick straight from the bullet (in my book, it’s not dark enough to require lip brush action) and then use a Q-tip to smooth the edges and fix any imperfections. Does it last a long time? Eh, I mean it’s nothing to write home about and really depends on your eating/drinking habits. However, it is moisturizing, which is lovely if you’re spending the day in a moisture-sucking vacuum (thanks a lot air conditioning).

What do you think? Do you like matching your lipstick to your outfit?

Leave a Reply

