Face of the Day: Shocking Coral

FOTD Shocking Coral 1 FOTD Shocking Coral 2I realized I haven’t done a Face Of The Day in quite a while, so I thought I’d share today’s look with you!

Today was nothing special, just going to work, out to dinner and then my suite for the night. Since I work at a luxury PR firm that’s filled with young, stylish women I like to dress to impress when I come into the office, completing my looks with fun yet polished makeup looks.

FOTD Shocking Coral 3I start every look with a foundation of course, and since I’m trying to use up my sample of the YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation, this was my base product of choice today. To hide my scary dark circles I reached for the classic Bobbi Brown Corrector in Light Bisque, and then applied NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Ginger over the top (review on this coming soon!).  The concealer was also dabbed under my brows, around the mouth and on a couple red splotches on my jaw to create a flawless complexion! To set my base I lightly dusted MUFE HD Powder all over to prolong the lifespan of my base and diminish the shine. Both the concealer and foundation emit a rather lovely glow that usually looks gorgeous, but in 90 degree heat I want to be as matte as possible! My base isn’t complete without contour, so I blended my favorite bronzer of the moment, Stila Sun Bronzing Powder in Shade 2, beneath my cheekbones for a sculpted look. Since I knew I wanted to use a pinky lipstick to match my J.Crew blouse I used a pink blush as well: NYX Bourgeois Pig.

The first thing I swiped onto my lids was a primer of course, specifically Urban Decay Primer Potion, which keeps your shadows from creasing and migrating all over your face by the end of the day. I then used a flat shader brush to pat on MAC Retrospeck, a gold-silver glittery shade that instantly brightens up my eyes and gives my appearance an extra couple hours of sleep. MAC Soba made an appearance on the outer corners of the eyes and under the lashline for a bit of definition and subtle contour before Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner swooped in to produce my signature cat-eye. Two coats of Maybelline The Falsies Waterproof Mascara and some Anastasia Brow Powder in Medium Brown through my brows and the eyes are done-zo.

Now for the most exciting part: the lips (and the saga that goes along with it). When the MAC Iris Apfel collection came out I was absolutely dying to get my hands on the lipstick, Party Parrot, however, being in the cow fields of central New York, I was not near any MAC stores or counters. I tried purchasing this treasured lipstick online but as per usual, the limited edition collection had sold out within minutes of its release on the MAC website. So I cried a little. Just kidding, but really I was pretty devastated. I recently heard that Shocking Coral from the Maybelline Vivids line was a dupe for Party Parrot – so I ran out (literally 5 minutes after confirming this on various beauty blogs) and bought it. And here, ladies and gentlemen, is Maybelline Shocking Coral on my lips. I definitely wouldn’t call it a coral, but I love the fun bright color and the formulation – it’s incredibly pigmented and smooth, making it super comfy to wear on the lips. Will I be picking up more shades from this line? Absolutely.

I hope you guys enjoyed my Face of the Day!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

