Summer 2013 Favorites

Summer 2013 Favorites 1Hi guys, I know it’s been a solid month since my last few posts, so I thought I’d give a round up of some of the products I’ve been loving lately and throughout the summer as a whole.

First up is the YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation in B50. I previously reviewed this incredible foundation here, but have since purchased it in my summer shade. I love the radiance this liquid formula gives to the face without heavy coverage or a cakey feeling. It’s also incredibly buildable so it can be worn on a variety of occasions – sheer for everyday, heavier at night. This shade, B50 is perfect for my summer skintone! They recently added an SPF of 19 to the formula, which I actually don’t like because I wear SPF underneath it anyway, but it’s great if you don’t and want extra sun protection.

Next is Laura Mercier Pressed Setting Powder. I picked this up because things got super hot and humid in NYC about a month ago, and you couldn’t step outside without instantly becoming drenched in sweat. Sexy, right? I normally use MUFE HD Powder but it just wasn’t cutting it, I needed something more mattifying. This did just that. Although it looks white in the pan it’s actually translucent on the skin and removes all shine. I definitely won’t be using this much in the winter when my skin is dry, but for hot weather, or girls with oily skin, this is great.

Summer 2013 Favorites 2I was very lucky enough to snag this very limited edition Dior 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in #539 Iridescent Leather from Saks in the very beginning of the summer. This was released initially in 2008 in the Dandy Lady Collection but was brought back in select Saks for a very short period of time. It features 5 gorgeous neutral shades that range from a deep rich brown to a white-gold highlight shade. These have become my default eyeshadows to use since they illuminate the eye but in a classy way – they have shimmer and a couple shades skirt on the line between shimmer and glitter, but still maintain the sophistication of Dior. I usually pack the pale pink or light gold shade all over the lid, taupe on the outer corner, dark brown beneath the lower lashline, and the center shade in the inner corner of my eyes. Gorgeous. This palette is no longer available in Saks but a few still remain on Amazon if you’d like to purchase one!

MAC crosswiresLast but not least is MAC Lipstick in Crosswires. This has easily become my “lips but better” shade and my most worn lipstick this summer. The color is perfect: a lively coral-pink but not bright enough to attract too much attention. It brightens my face and adds needed pigmentation to my lips in a subtle, polished way. Even better, the cremesheen formula is long-wearing and moisturizing on the lips, making it ideal for long work days. When I don’t feel like putting the maintenance into a bold lip but still want to look put together, Crosswires has my back.

What have been your favorites this summer?

2 comments

  1. Hi Have you tried “hello Sailor”? I am thinking about it. I have enjoy all your in put! Auntie Jen

Leave a Reply

